@ Blog of Author AND Bibliophile Heather A. Fowler! @

Quickie Batty Book Review: First Drop of Crimson (Night Huntress World #1) by Jeaniene Frost

First Drop of Crimson (Night Huntress World, #1)First Drop of Crimson by Jeaniene Frost
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had a difficult time rating this book, because I was of two very different minds about it. On one hand, I was interested in the plot, glad to see Spade’s story at last, and on board with seeing Denise fleshed out more than she gets to be in Cat’s books. It was a great story, and I was invested enough to spend a couple of sleepless nights getting to the end.

Then there’s my cynical side. The love story here overall wasn’t bad. I liked the internal conflict between these two, because it was not only interesting, but at least in part, the same things that should draw them together are also what they allow to drive them apart. Unfortunately, Ms. Frost really overdoes it. The same come here-go away sorts of scenes and internal monologues are used over and over again until they get tedious. We already know they’re going to get together in the end. We already know they have to overcome their conflicts. Watching them take the exact same actions a dozen times before they get there gets very tiring, very fast, and cuts into what is otherwise a good story.

So while the emotional reader side of me wants to give them a four, the critical, jaded romance reader really can’t. It’s well worth the read just to get to know these great characters. Just be prepared to get annoyed with some of the romance tropes overused throughout.

View all my reviews

One response

  1. jenniferbielman

    I totally know what you mean. I liked it but the same things bothered me.

    January 29, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers