Happy Monday!

Published August 29, 2011 by The Author

I hope everyone did okay with the storm. Things were okay here — we lost power for about 8 hours, but no major damage around the neighborhood. We’re up on a bit of a rise, so even when Lake Champlain rises above its banks, we aren’t really in a dangerous spot the way people on the shore are. Lucky! It was actually nice, in a way, to get away from the television and the computer.

I sat at the kitchen table with a battery powered lantern, and took notes on my Oscar Wilde project with an actual PEN AND PAPER. That’s the way I prefer to write fiction. I’m not sure why I’ve never been able to do it the way I do my articles, straight on the keyboard. I guess I don’t feel personally attached to my writing when I’m typing it. Not that I’m not involved in my non-fiction, but that’s more factual. I’ve got facts, they don’t necessarily have to be fancy, they just have to be clear and correct. With fiction, it’s… more important to be able to touch the words, allow the more poetic forms in my head flow through me to the page. It sounds stupid, but there it is. Unfortunately, as I get older, that’s getting harder! I can definitely feel all the writing I did yesterday in my hands today. But this particular paper is an essay, which requires much more attachment than an article (although slightly less than fiction). Plus, the essay I’m putting together is built on sort of a thematic weave that’s easier conceptualized if I can visually lay out all the parts as I knit/write the threads together.

(Aw, man, the power just went out again for about five minutes. Does not bode well for later.)

Now I totally jinxed it!

Okay, I should post this. I need to get back to my essay — finish at least a draft tonight. It’s been a long time since I wrote an academic literary essay. It’s HARD, man! Luckily, I’ve read the book a few times, so it’s just a matter of paring down the information into a palatable, essay form. I would cross all my digits and extremities, but I need at least my hands and fingers to write!

2 comments on “Happy Monday!

  • Leave a Reply

