NaNoWriMo Update and Other Stuff!

Published November 9, 2011 by The Author

First, I’m excited to say that my first newspaper cover story came out on Monday! You can read both of my articles from Jill Magazine online, if you’re interested:

1. Community Spa Nites – The local Cosmetology school holds three fundraising nights, where they offer spa services for a great price to help them raise money to travel to an international beauty conference in New York City!

2. 10 Makeup Mistakes You May Not Be Aware Of! – Just what it says. The experts share cosmetic mistakes women commonly make and aren’t even conscious of.

In sadder news, Jack the Cat, who had been lost by American Airlines in their JFK terminal for two months, finally had to be euthanized, as his injuries were just too serious for recovery, and he was suffering badly. RIP Jack. I’m glad at least his person was able to be there with him when he passed away.

~
And now that we’re all thoroughly depressed…

As far as NaNo goes… Day 7, I did exactly NOTHING, novel-wise. Not a single word, even on the outline. It was a cross of feeling like crap health-wise, not having slept enough the night before (thanks, stupid Daylight Savings Time!), and struggling even to get work-work done.

NaNoWriMo DAY SEVEN – NADA. BIG, FAT, GOOSE EGG.

NaNoWriMo DAY EIGHT

Day 8 Target:

Total So Far:

I am so never going to catch up. Today’s Day 9. By the end of today, I should have 15,003. I am officially 6002 words behind. SIX. THOUSAND. AND. TWO. Not good. So let’s say I spread those words out over the next 21 days — that would mean an extra 273 words per day. So the new target would be 1667 + 273 = 1940 words/day.

I dunno… looking at it that way it doesn’t seem so bad. Problem is, I have barely hit the 1667 on any particular day. How can I be sure I’ll hit an extra almost 300 words a day? Oy.

Well, I’m not giving up. Even if I don’t “win” this year, I will have at least given it a shot!

2 comments on “NaNoWriMo Update and Other Stuff!

  • NaNoWriMo sometimes seems to be to be some kind of weird, literary slot machine – some days the words flow fast and easy, but for me most of the time cranking out words in November is akin to unearthing the skeletal reamains of a prehistoric monster encased in epoxy with a spork. I ditched the first two stories I started this month after getting 2000 words in and realizing they weren’t worth pursuing, but finally found the kickstart for one I will stick with and today I am up to 3,100 words. I don’t know if I will be able to make up the back words and lost time, but I am going to keep plugging away and by the end of November I will have a story I didn’t have in October. Here’s wishing you best of luck, and may the right words emerge for you at the “write” moment. πŸ™‚

  • Leave a Reply

