Thursday 13 for August 9th, 2012

Published August 9, 2012 by The Author

Thursday 13 Crab

13 Books and Book Series I Read Over and Over Again
(in no particular order, although I suspect they’ll come to me in terms of memorability, which must say something!)

1. The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon

2. Mysts of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

3. A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Devereaux

4. The Rachel Morgan/The Hollows Series by Kim Harrison

5. The Dresden Files Series by Jim Butcher

6. The #1 Ladies Detective Agency Series by Alexander McCall Smith

7. The In Death Series by J.D. Robb

8. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert (yeah, yeah, I know…)

9. The Marshall Plan for Novel Writing by Evan Marshall

10. The Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler

11. The Anita Blake Series by Laurell K. Hamilton (That’s right.)

12. The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice (except the last few. Blech.)

13. The St. Germaine Series by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun!

Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

View More Thursday Thirteen Participants

Wow, I was going through my Goodreads, and I realized there are DOZENS of books and series I’ve read more than twice. This only touches on the top ones!

Feel free to comment on my choices. *G*

8 comments on “Thursday 13 for August 9th, 2012

    • They are awesome! I was so disappointed when the TV show got cancelled. And I hate it when Jim talks about his OTHER series — it’s like he’s cheating on us!

      It seems weird to say this, but there are so few relatable male Urban Fantasy heroes. I mean, part of the reason I adore the genre is because of the kick ass heroines, but Harry is just my dude. And Mister, and Mouse, and Bob, and… well everyone rules!

      But you probably hear this constantly from your husband, you don’t need it from me. LOL Thanks for stopping by to comment!

    • I always use it for anything over about 10,000 words. It requires a little rethinking when writing romance, because the book focuses on romance as a sub-plot (which is okay when writing Urban Fantasy), but other than that, I find the step by step, action/reaction structure very helpful. It hits on all the rising crisis points you need, helps you keep track of timelines and character arcs, and especially keeps climactic sections in line both story-wise and emotionally.

      Short answer: yes! LOL I don’t think it’s for everyone, but I would never finish a story if I didn’t use it as a guide. Like any other outline, I change things as I go along many times, but mostly, the action sheets remain the map of my overall story.

    • OMG, me too! The more story, the better. I would have all my favorite series go on forever, although they inevitably start to lose their power. *sigh* Still, I followed Anne Rice all the way down into the slimepit that was Blood Canticle, so I can put up with a lot for my favorite characters! Seeing a new release in one of my favorite series is like a visit from an old friend!

  • Leave a Reply

