Um… Whoops.

Published September 22, 2012 by The Author

So… I posted a rant yesterday that was never really meant to be posted. That was my shitty first draft that I never went back to clarify my points or try to be more diplomatic. I didn’t even know I published it. Apparently I hit Publish instead of Save Draft, since I mean to do a guest post on basically the same topic (the YA craze thing, without so much focus on the political aspects, because frankly, I don’t have the time or energy for that deep of a philosophical war right now) in the near future.

So I’m not taking any of what I said back, but I might be willing to apologize for the inelegant way I expressed it.

You know, since I’m usually so erudite here on my blog.

I still don’t get why YA is so hot, though. Especially when I keep seeing the exact same plots and characters over and over again. I’ve just given up on the genre entirely, frankly. Unless a friend whose taste I trust has written or recommends it, it’s just not going on my TBR. I’m determined to support good adult fiction, be it PNR or UF. And I REALLY dislike the entire 50 Shades of Blech thing, so I’m not softening on what I said about that pile of crap at ALL. I even had another post I wrote that I never posted because I try not to do those kinds of things that listed the top 10 things I hated about the series.

But I’m not posting that unless there’s a relevant conversation that calls for it. I want to talk about books I LIKE here. I want to work on being more positive when it comes to writing about books and writing. I don’t want to be one of those snide, nasty bloggers who think sarcasm and viciousness is a substitute for honest, quality criticism. (There’s an argument to be made on the opposite end of the spectrum as well — being too nice doesn’t do a writer any good either.)

Should I change my pseudonym and move to another blog so the fabled YA Mafia can’t get me now?

Well, I didn’t say I was NEVER going to be snide. Just not about books. Besides, I’m not a critic. I’m just a writer who’s a reader.

DON'T READ THE GARBAGE!

2 comments on “Um… Whoops.

    • Hee. Would it make me a bad person if I said I had a collection of funny anti-Twilight cartoons and stuff? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Of course, I also collect LOLCats, so this is one that I couldn’t NOT have in my collection! LOL

  • Leave a Reply

