HAPPY HALLOWEEN, Happy Samhain to my Pagan friends, and a TREAT!

Published October 31, 2012 by The Author

I hope everybody on the east coast is okay, and gets to celebrate in their own way!

And since it’s the 31st, guess what that means? (Sadly) the last day of THE THIRTY-ONE DAYS OF HALLOWEEN! Come on, sing along! (No, that’s not a tear in my eye. I have allergies. *sniffle*)

On the last day of Halloween, my truly creepy love gave to me:

THIRTY-ONE SPECTACULAR SCARES,
THIRTY INBRED CRAZIES,
TWENTY-NINE SATAN-IMPREGNATED WAIFS,
TWENTY-EIGHT JAPANESE-HORROR CURSES!
TWENTY-SEVEN HEADLESS CORPSES,
TWENTY-SIX MAD SCIENTISTS,

TWENTY-FIVE STEPHEN KING NIGHTMARES,
TWENTY-FOUR CANS OF SPLIT PEA SOUP,
TWENTY-THREE ANTI-CHRISTS,
TWENTY-TWO POINTY HATS,
TWENTY-ONE BLACK CATS,
TWENTY KIDS IN COSTUMES!
NINETEEN HAUNTED HOUSES,
EIGHTEEN DEVIL DOGS,
SEVENTEEN SOUL-SUCKING DEMONS,
SIXTEEN HOMICIDAL VEHICLES,
FIFTEEN THUNDERSTORMS,
FOURTEEN VAMPIRE COFFINS,
THIRTEEN DEADLY TOOLS,
TWELVE GRUESOME PUZZLES IF YOU WANT TO ESCAPE!
ELEVEN CHAINSAW PSYCHOS,
TEN CREEPY GUSTS OF WIND,
NINE HOWLING WEREWOLVES,
EIGHT FLESH-HUNGRY GHOULS,
SEVEN POUNDS OF CANDY,
SIX FRANKENSTEIN’S MONSTERS,
FIIIIIVE MOANING GHOSTS!
FOUR CACKLING WITCHES,
THREE SHAMBLING ZOMBIES,
TWO SERIAL KILLERS,
AND A VAMPIRE BITING MY NECK!

Man, I’m going to miss singing that until next year!

So, I’m not dressing up, sadly, unless you consider my outfit a costume: “Lazy Slob Stressed-Out Writer!” I’ll take it. LOL I had a full-fledged panic attack realizing how much promo stuff I’m doing in the next few months, plus blogging, plus writing, plus planning a blog tour for A. Sangrey Black‘s IF WISHES WERE SHADOWS, plus NANO. Madness, man! So what did I do to help myself catch up? I started writing a completely new story for a special submission that’s not even due until March of next year!

THAT’S WHY I CALL THEM BLOODTHIRSTY MUSES. They’re frickin’ vicious, and they do NOT believe in free will. I actually haven’t been taken over by a character quite this much in a long time, and you might want to sit down for this: HE’S NOT EVEN A VAMPIRE. No, seriously. And he’s an A. Sangrey Black character in an m/m love story! Can you believe that shit? It really is Samhain (the Pagan New Year)! The story even has a soundtrack, another thing I haven’t done in forever. Hopefully it’s a good sign! Of course, my plate is already chock full of projects.

Which means I have to drag my manic-ass attention back to things that are due, oh, November 15. Doh!

Anyway, enough with the whinging because I actually have work (don’t you hate people who do that? Don’t hate me!) How about a PRESENT! It’s actually not from me (I’ll be giving away stuff for blog hops tomorrow, don’t forget! TODAY’S THE LAST DAY TO ENTER THE WICKED AFTER DARK BLOG HOP!). This is a present from one of my favorite recently-discovered authors, the lovely Amber Polo. She’s a librarian, bibliophile dog-lover, and has written the first book in a series that I absolutely adore, called The Shapeshifter’s Library. (The second comes out in November, and I’ve been fangirling her so hard, she’s going to let me review an ARC when it’s ready. SQUEEE!)

Anyway, I would pay full publisher’s price for this one, I love it so much. I was lucky enough to win RELEASED in a contest, and I swear it was the best thing I ever won. But YOU guys are lucky to get the chance for a great Halloween Prezzie: Today and Tomorrow (Oct. 31 and Nov. 1), Amber is GIVING AWAY Kindle copies of RELEASED at Amazon for FREE.

Released by Amber Polo“Released”

Book One
The Shapeshifters’ Library

Love dogs?

Love books?
Love Libraries?
Hate book-burning werewolves?

Welcome to Shipsfeather, Ohio, where an ancient race of dog-shifters struggle, under an ordinary public library, to save the knowledge of the world from book-burning werewolves.

For years a curse has imprisoned the dog-shifters in the basement of the Shipsfeather Library—where they have made the best of things with a gym, a spa, a Starbarks, and, of course, their wildly successful internet company, Zoogle—but now, thanks to librarian Liberty Cutter and her zany staff, they may actually have a chance to break free.

If only they can convince Liberty to believe in magic…

Excerpts

Reviews 

Library and Dog Lover Links

Download a copy of the “Reader’s Guide”

Run, DO NOT WALK… or… rather… click quickly, I guess. TO AMAZON WITH YOU! And stay tuned for my reviews of both RELEASED and its upcoming sequel, RETRIEVED. You’ll never be embarrassed to fall in love with a giant fluffy sheepdog again.
Now, I know I promised a steamy ghost story for Halloween… but what started as scary smut GREW A FRICKING PLOT and isn’t close to done. BUT, I’m furiously typing a “Hot” scene to share later tonight, so keep your eyes open. And be prepared for an un-edited, sloppy first draft sort of thing. Hopefully still hot! You can print it out for bed after the kids are de-candied or you’ve bonked them over the head to put them to sleep. 😉
Everyone take care, have fun, and don’t talk to guys in hockey masks! Or who sparkle in streetlights, because… well, that’s just lame. KIDDING!
Happy Halloween -- AGAIN!

I know I said it already, but it’s WORTH SAYING TWICE!

Leave a Reply

