Thursday 13: Ways to Help Sandy Victims, Human and Otherwise!

Published November 1, 2012 by The Author

THURSDAY 13

Sandy Fallen Tree

Photo (c) CNN

Growing up on the East Coast, I’ve survived a lot of big storms. Even here in the mountains of the Adirondacks, we’ve faced more than a few — most notably the 1997 Ice Storm that brought our area to a halt for quite a while. I know the fear, the worry, the loss of feeling security in your own home. But my family has been lucky (knock on wood), we’ve never suffered much loss of property or physical safety.

Sandy has done terrible damage here in the East. While my area of New York and nearby Vermont were hit hard by Irene last year, we got off easy with Sandy. Many people came to our aid in years past, and now it’s time for us to return the favor. This week, I’d like to share 13 great (and legit) charities that are helping either with money or labor or both in helping get the worst hit areas back on their feet. I’ve included both human and animal charities, because all living things need assistance in times of need. (Some links lead to their rating information on the Charity Navigator Network, which evaluates various charity organizations as to effectiveness, integrity, and ratio of funds used for action vs. administration.)

Remember to be cautious in responding to requests for contributions, especially from organizations with which you aren’t familiar — there are, sadly, a lot of scams out there. Charity evaluators like Guidestar and Charity Navigator are good ways to check that the organization you’re donating to is established and your funds will go where you intend.

1. American Red Cross

2. Best Friends Animal Society

3. Feeding America

4. Alley Cat Allies

5. American Humane Association

6. AMERICARES

7. CENTER FOR DISASTER PHILANTHROPY’S DISASTER RECOVERY FUND

8. Donate Blood at your local Red Cross or other collection center — supplies are running very low in affected areas.

9. Humane Society of the United States

10. Team Rubicon

11. Operation USA and the International Medical Corps are helping people affected by Sandy in Haiti and Cuba. Operation USA is also providing aid to the East Coast.

12. Offer shelter for displaced family and friends, or serve as a foster for homeless animals.

13. For ongoing information, updates, and ideas on how to help, check out IMPACT YOUR WORLD, from CNN.

Another great way to help those affected by Sandy and have a little fun at the same time is the NBC Hurricane Sandy Charity Concert on Friday, November 2 8 pm EST on NBC, USA, MSNBC, CNBC, Bravo, E!, Style Network and G4.

Read more at http://www.inquisitr.com/384191/hurricane-sandy-charity-concert-bruce-springsteen-to-raise-money-for-victims/#VED3BhSvHYXUpCkU.99

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun!

Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

View More Thursday Thirteen Participants

Today is also the first day of National Novel Writing Month, and usually I’d be all over raving about that, but I am exhausted from all the Halloween revelries, and I thought this post was more important. If you’re doing NaNo, I would love to hear from you — stop by my profile and friend me, and keep an eye out here for endless babbling starting in a few days. Don’t worry, I WILL still be making my own word count, hopefully!

6 comments on “Thursday 13: Ways to Help Sandy Victims, Human and Otherwise!

    • Oh, me too, definitely! When I was in grad school, my first apartment burned down and my housemates and I lost everything. The Red Cross put us up in shelter, helped us find new places to live, clothed and fed us, and most of all, gave us comfort when our families were far away. I always try to give to them when I do my charity donations.

    • You’re welcome! I saw all the suffering, and I felt compelled to do some small thing if I could. Plus I know a lot of people want to give but don’t know where to start.

      Thanks for stopping by, hon! Feel free to spread the word!

    • Me too. I’ve had amazing help from them myself. When I was in grad school, our apartment building burned down and my roommates and I lost everything. The Red Cross blew my mind – they put us up in a motel, gave us vouchers for food, clothes, and other necessities, and even helped us find and fund a new place. I’ll feel grateful to them forever!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  • Leave a Reply

