“Dona Nobis Pacem” – Latin for Grant Us Peace.

Published November 4, 2012 by The Author
Annual November 4 Blog Blast for Peace

Violence is bad for children and other living things…

I wish I had more time today to write a long post like I did last year, but as you know I’m swamped with various this and that in work and life.

But at this moment more than ever, I think it’s important to think about peace: war all over the world, the East Coast drowning in destruction from Superstorm Sandy, and the truly disturbing vitriol from all factions during the Presidential Election…

Madness everywhere, and rather than better, it seems to always get worse. The only way we can make a change is for each one of us, individually, to give an effort to be kinder to one another, to think before we speak or type. To remember, as the Dalai Lama says, that we are all the same: we want happiness and to avoid suffering.

“I believe all suffering is caused by ignorance. People inflict pain on others in the selfish pursuit of their happiness or satisfaction. Yet true happiness comes from a sense of peace and contentment, which in turn must be achieved through the cultivation of altruism, of love and compassion, and elimination of ignorance, selfishness, and greed.”
Dalai Lama

Our job is to make sure that we achieve these things without hurting others, or taking away their rights to the same thing.

“It is no longer good enough to cry peace, we must act peace, live peace, and live in peace.” Shenandoah proverb
Take a moment today to think about peace. Meditate, pray, or just take a quiet moment to consider what we could do to make the world a more peaceful place. Small acts that when combined, become a quiet revolution.

 

4 comments on ““Dona Nobis Pacem” – Latin for Grant Us Peace.

  • What a very thoughtful post. I came from another blog that suggested reading a peace book a year, and a book of the Dalai Lama was on the list she gave…after reading some of his quotes here, I believe I might just find and read it!

    • Thank you! I think reading a peace book a year is a fantastic idea. I happen to be Buddhist myself, so of course I jump to recommend the great peacemakers like His Holiness the Dalai Lama, Thich Nhat Hanh and Pema Chodron, but I find inspiration in other faiths too. Mother Teresa, Gandhi, and Martin Luthor King, Jr. are also heroes of mine when it comes to thinking about the way I live and respond to things in a very contentious and violent world.

      Thank you for commenting, and peace!

    • Thank you! I try to do it every year, as one of my small things. It’s a tiny balm against the pain of watching so much suffering in the world. I often write violence in my books, although I try to create heroes who fight to end the fighting. Still, it’s easy to forget that what I put out in the world has an effect on the energy of living things. As a person, I am very much a pacifist, and I try to balance my profession of writing darker adventures with the kind of spirit I would like to fill the universe with.

      Thank you for stopping by!

  • Leave a Reply

