The NEXT BIG THING!

Published November 7, 2012 by The Author
The Next Big Thing Author Exchange

What will take over the bestseller lists next?

You see them everywhere, from the grocery store to Walmart, and the hands of every other person on the train or plane, at the bus stop, or in the breakroom. Half the stories on TV seem to be raving or ranting about them. They’re the monstrous fiction best-sellers that seem to take over our popular culture like a plague… or a blessing, depending on your point of view. You know the ones I’m talking about (gods, I can’t even name a few of them anymore, they make me so weary). But it’s not just those gargantuan flashes in the pan that sell like bottled water before a storm, but many mainstays and series that produce fantastic fiction for years or decades that have earned their creators a devoted following, along with others that started as huge fads and became classics (I’m looking at you, Harry Potter). I find these more than the fads, myself, and I don’t find them quite so annoying. The ones that last are, with any luck, the better books.

But we’re not here to slam on or gush over those mistresses and masters of the pen (or the PR, or the stroke of sheer luck) who have dominated the entirety of the publishing industry of late. We’re here to talk about us smaller fish. Some of us are swimming in the pond of self-publishing, others small-press and/or e-press. Some are even struggling their way up that salmon ladder of Big House publishing. Wherever we are in our career, we dream about seeing those big sales numbers, the #1 Best Seller tag next to our names, the movie rights sold… and most of all, hearing from readers who love our work. That’s what this blog hop/chain/exchange is about: talking about our upcoming projects and helping promote the work of other writers we know and admire.

Now that I’ve already ranted a bit, I’d like to thank Bastian Caldwell, author of THE COMPLETE LILY LANSING, for tagging me on the Author Exchange! I’m happy to share her info with you below so you can check her out:

Blog: http://bastiancaldwell.weebly.com/blog.html

WildChildPublishing Website: http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=91&products_id=407&zenid=2ed79715186df9de7ef6ded71abc57cf

Twitter: https://twitter.com/bastiancaldwell

@@@@@

In this blog exchange, fellow authors and I each answer 10 questions to share information about our current WIP (Works in Progress) as well as some goodies as to our process,from characters and inspirations to photographic/ cinematic eye candy! I hope you enjoy it!

If this or any other items pique your interest, please feel free to comment and share your thoughts and questions. And join up to follow my blog, Twitter, Facebook… or all over the place for news on when I submit and publish — because that’s what it’s all about, right?

1: What is the working title of your book?

THE VALKYRIE & THE VAMPIRE

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

It was a sort of dual inspiration. I was just starting to write fiction again after a few years off, and the first place I went to see what was happening in the industry was to previous publishers I had positive experiences with. Freya’s Bower grabbed my attention with their Goddess Freya line. I’d been wanting to write a Goddess-based romance with a kick-ass heroine, and their call immediately sparked the creative spirit. Then the hero… well, I had just been re-watching some episodes of Angel, and I was kind of missing the character, so Cameron was born. He’s not Angel, but he has many delicious Angel-like qualities.

3: What genre does your book fall under?

Paranormal Romance, although I’m strongly influenced by Dark and Urban Fantasy because of the elements of horror and dark themes.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

LOL! Well, I guess David Boreanaz is pretty clear for Cameron. Astrid is inspired by pre-lip job but post Battlestar Galactica Kattee Sackhoff. She did some very sexy pin-up pictures with long hair that made me go, “Yes! That’s her!” Very badass, very beautiful in a Scandinavian Warrior way.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Late cop Astrid Mathesen accepts a quest from the goddess Freya to return to Earth and save the soul of a great vampire warrior, Cameron Locke.

6: Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

While I don’t have an agent (yet — I’m saving that for if/when I decide to go hardcore for the big houses), my plan is to submit to Freya’s Bower, since THE VALKYRIE & THE VAMPIRE was written pretty specifically for their signature line.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Well, doesn’t “in-progress” sort of mean… in progress? LOL I’d say it’s about halfway done as I write this, and I’m finishing it up during National Novel Writing Month (ostensibly — so far I’ve been slammed with freelance work and trying to finish a short story due November 15). I actually started the first draft last summer, but set it aside for a few short projects. If I wrote it straight through, I’d say a first draft of a novel this size might take a few months or so. That’s with nothing else on the calendar… which almost never happens.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I don’t like doing that. I can tell you that I consider my writing a mix of romance, action, and horror, but I think my characters are unique (just like every other writer does), and the world I’m building different than others out there. I also don’t want to try and pump myself up by comparing myself to PNR/UF writers I admire. It’s uncomfortable. But if you like fierce heroes and heroines with some major psychological and emotional damage fighting a world on the edge of oblivion and gaining strength through their feelings for one another, then this is the place for you. Plus, it’s a universe with a lot of cool and scary species and a dash of Norse mythology for flavor.

9: Who or What inspired you to write this book?

See #2. But also, I had been doing freelance writing for a living for a few years, and I was really missing fiction. It was time to get back into storytelling, and when Freya’s Bower sparked my imagination, I was off to the writing races.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

An ultra-modern talking house, a gang of sexy motorcycle-riding werewolves, zombies, nasty vampires vs. heroic vampires, Freya and Thor, and just what warriors get up to in Norse Heaven. Oh, and the smut. Can’t miss the smut!

Below you will find the authors I tagged, who will be making their own posts on these topics next week, November 14th. Do be sure to bookmark and add them to your calendars for updates on WIPs and New Releases! Happy Writing and Reading!!

~~~~~

1. A. Sangrey Black, Author of IF WISHES WERE SHADOWS (BDSM Paranormal Menage):
Blog: http://asangreyblack.blogspot.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/a.sangreyblack
Twitter: @ASangreyBlack

2. Kimberly Menozzi, Author of ASK ME IF I’M HAPPY:
Blog: http://www.kmenozzi.com/blog.html
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorkmenozzi
Twitter: @KMenozzi

What do you believe is the NEXT BIG THING in books?

2 comments on “The NEXT BIG THING!

  • That’s because YOU are AWESOME! *hugs* I love smut. I know lots of other people do too, and hey, kink is in style, right? LOL

    Looking forward to your post next week. I had a terrible problem getting anyone to participate! It’s the busy season!

  • Leave a Reply

