Batty ARC Review! EVER AFTER (The Hollows #11) by Kim Harrison (SQUEEE!)

Published January 1, 2013 by The Author

9780061957918Book Title: Ever After

ISBN: 9780061957918

Author: Kim Harrison (SQUEEE!)

Series: The Hollows #11

Publisher: Harper Voyager

Category: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Main Characters: Rachel Morgan, Trent Kalamack, Ensemble

Author’s Website: http://www.kimharrison.net

Projected Release Date: January 22, 2013

Source: ARC Provided by the publisher. No remuneration provided for honest review (EXCEPT THE THRILL OF GETTING TO READ IT AHEAD OF TIME — SQUEEE!)

Rating:5-full-moons5 FULL MOONS!!!!!! (Or in layreader’s terms: OMGSOGOODSQUEEEE!!!)

PUBLISHER’S DESCRIPTION:

Harper Voyager

New York Times Bestselling Author

Rachel Morgan must save the demonic realm of the ever after to protect our own world in this eleventh entry in the New York Times bestselling Hollow series

“I wouldn’t miss a Kim Harrison book for anything.”-Charlaine Harris
The ever after, the demonic realm that parallels the human world, is shrinking. If it disappears completely, so does all magic. It’s up to witch-turned-daywalking-demon Rachel Morgan to avert catastrophe and keep life from changing . . . for the worse.

While saving the world is important, it isn’t Rachel’s only motivation. There’s also the small fact that she caused the ley line to rip in the first place, setting off a chain reaction of unfortunate events. That little mistake has made her life forfeit unless she can fix it. It’s also made her more than a few enemies, including the most powerful demon in the ever after-a terrifying entity who eats souls and now has an insatiable appetite for her. He’s already kidnapped her friend and goddaughter to lure her out, and if Rachel doesn’t give herself up soon, they’ll die.

But Rachel has more than a few impressive and frightening skills of her own, and she isn’t going to hand over her soul and her life without one hell of a fight. She’s also got a surprise: elven tycoon Trent Kalamack. With this unlikely ally beside her-a prospect both thrilling and unnerving – she’s going to return to the ever after, kick some demon butt, rescue her loved ones . . . and prevent an apocalypse before it’s too late. Or, at least that’s the plan . . .

Heather’s Review:

First of all, a disclaimer: you may have noticed that I’m a screaming, drooling, whacked out geek fangirl of Kim Harrison and the Hollows in particular. Rachel is my girl. I adore this series above almost every other, and it has rarely let me down. So this review definitely has that bias twinkling all over it. That being said, I was kind of rough on A PERFECT BLOOD, so it is possible for me to point out things that I really don’t dig with some impartiality.

YOU’RE NOT GETTING THAT IN THIS REVIEW, BECAUSE OMG WAS THIS A GREAT BOOK!!!!  I really have to struggle not to spoil you, because SO MUCH HAPPENS, and it’s ALL SO AWESOME! This is the best entry yet, I think, but of course it’s difficult to say that since I haven’t done a re-read in a while. But like I said, so much happened in EVER AFTER that by the time it was done (in three nearly sleepless nights), I felt like I was chock full of awesome Rachelly goodness… AND NOW I WANT THE NEXT ONE! *cries* I don’t how I can possibly wait another year or two! But then, there are only two books left and WHAT WILL WE DO THEN?

Okay, I’m not reviewing, I’m getting hysterical. But that should let you know how much I loved this book. I have no complaints about it except stuff that happened in the story that made me go “NOOOOOOOO!” and those are good things for a story, right? Even if you hate them, and they make you spit or sob or whatever. SO GOOD.

A PERFECT BLOOD, to me, felt like connective tissue more than meat… that may be because THE ENTIRE BUTCHER SHOP is in EVER AFTER.

The Elvish and Demon shenanigans go so deep in this book, I was absolutely blown away. I swear, it changes the way I look at the entire Hollows/Ever After universe — and I think it did the same for Rachel. Absolutely fantastic. The worst of the worst demons wreaks havoc (understatement) on Rachel’s entire world, Trent messes with her head (and her world… and her libido… and possibly her heart). Speaking of romance, I won’t tell you what happens in the ongoing will they/won’t they thing of Trent/Rachel (I STILL MOURN YOU KISTEN! *SOB*), but I WILL say there may be a hint of a “TINY” romance on the horizon for someone in the gang.

One of my favorite parts of EVER AFTER is the chunk that brought me back to the good old days of Vampiric Charms pulling jobs and doing runs, but it’s done without pulling us out of the current story. Brilliant, cool, and sweet.

EVER AFTER is so full of action and emotion, gripping suspense and demonstrations that our characters have either truly grown through the series or may not have been exactly who we thought they were to begin with, it is amazing. This book is all of the best things a visit to the Hollow universe should be, and reminds me how I became a blubbering mess of a literary stalker for Kim Harrison to be begin with. In fact, why I fell in such love with Urban Fantasy.

If you haven’t pre-ordered EVER AFTER, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? I’ll even give you links at the end. You must have this book in your hot little hands ASAP.  For those of you who love Urban Fantasy but for some strange reason have never entered the freaky twisted reality of Rachel Morgan? Well, get thee to DEAD WITCH WALKING ASAP and come join the rest of us when you’re caught up. Don’t forget to eat and shower.

I absolutely cannot wait to see where the final two books in the series go… and yet I never want this ride to end. Thank you Kim, and thank you Harper Voyager for the honor of getting to read this gem ahead of time! (I was dying after the teaser chapters, I swear.)

If there were more than five full moons on the scale, I’D GIVE THEM ALL TO EVER AFTER!

Pre-Order: Amazon | B&N | Order it signed from Nicola’s Books!

@~~~~~@

OOOOO – Five Full Moons: OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK GO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
OOOO – Four Full Moons: I REALLY liked this. Well worth reading, and possibly re-reading!
OOO – Three Full Moons: Good! Worth a read.
OO – Two Full Moons: Not really to my taste, but not terrible.
O – One Full Moon: Has serious flaws that make it difficult to read and review fairly.

I also use half-moons as necessary. I should make it clear that I do review books on a number of levels, emotional and structural being the major ones. I might read a book with serious grammar and spelling flaws, but it could still win my heart due to characterization or story. Or a perfectly structured novel might leave me feeling nothing, and won’t get a great review. I DO always try to find something positive to say about a book, or I won’t say anything much at all. I DO NOT engage in mean-spirited snark, although I do give constructive criticism. As a writer, I can’t stand the former, and always appreciate the latter, even if it’s “negative.”

Hope this makes sense. Any questions, comments, or vague misgivings are welcome in the comments!

Leave a Reply

