Batty Book Review! AT GRAVE’S END (Night Huntress #3) by Jeaniene Frost

Published January 4, 2013 by The Author

At Grave's End by Jeaniene Frost (Night Huntress #3)Book Title: At Grave’s End

ISBN: 9780061583070

Author: Jeaniene Frost

Series: Night Huntress #3

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers/Avon

Category: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy Romance

Main Characters: Cat/Bones

Author’s Website: http://www.jeanienefrost.com/

Sales Links: Amazon| B&N  | IndieBound

Source: Personal purchased copy, ebook.

Rating:4-full-moons4 FULL MOONS!

PUBLISHER’S DESCRIPTION:

It should be the best time of half-vampire Cat Crawfield’s life. With her undead lover Bones at her side, she’s successfully protected mortals from the rogue undead. But though Cat’s worn disguise after disguise to keep her true identity a secret from the brazen bloodsuckers, her cover’s finally been blown, placing her in terrible danger.

As if that wasn’t enough, a woman from Bones’s past is determined to bury him once and for all. Caught in the crosshairs of a vengeful vamp, yet determined to help Bones stop a lethal magic from being unleashed, Cat’s about to learn the true meaning of bad blood. And the tricks she’s learned as a special agent won’t help her. She will need to fully embrace her vampire instincts in order to save herself—and Bones—from a fate worse than the grave.

Heather’s Review:

I think this installment finally got me on board. I’m still not a hanging from the rafters, Bones-worshipping (I find I have other favorites. *G*), screaming FAN, but I found a lot more good in AT GRAVE’S END than bad, especially when compared to the first two books — it’s clear Ms. Frost was getting into her groove at this point. There are some negatives: what’s going on with Cat’s Sooper Sekrit Govt. Unit is all over the place, and I’m still not even sure where we left off with that or where we’re going in the future, for instance. Her mother, while not making me feel quite so homicidal (probably because of… a certain relationship with a certain character who shall remain nameless) STILL grates. Jeebus, woman, after everything these guys have done for you and your daughter, you still have to be so freaking annoying? Oy!

HOWEVER… this book really got its hooks into me and kept me engaged. I was invested in what was happening, and NEEDED to know what happened at the end for the first time. I was interrupted in the middle of reading it by other things, and I was actually chomping at the bit to get back to it. The story was riveting, terrifying, compelling, and full of action and harrowing twists, the usual steamy passion you come to exist from Cat and Bones… and best of all, more of the vampire politics and shenanigans I’ve always loved. Plus, the more characters we meet, the more fleshed out the universe becomes… and the more I like them. I know that Cat and Bones are the hub of the wheel, but on some levels, I enjoy the spokes more. Especially certain ones who I can’t name because it’s a spoiler, darnit!

While the villain’s backstory was thin, I felt bad about it instead of robbed. That’s a story that deserves a novel in its own right.

I have such a full plate this month reading and reviewing wise, I’m afraid I won’t get to the next book in the Night Huntress Series — and this time I’m actually annoyed with it! So That’s why the extra moon this time. It’s my ticket on the train. 😉

@~~~~~@

OOOOO – Five Full Moons: OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK GO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
OOOO – Four Full Moons: I REALLY liked this. Well worth reading, and possibly re-reading!
OOO – Three Full Moons: Good! Worth a read.
OO – Two Full Moons: Not really to my taste, but not terrible.
O – One Full Moon: Has serious flaws that make it difficult to read and review fairly.

I also use half-moons as necessary. I should make it clear that I do review books on a number of levels, emotional and structural being the major ones. I might read a book with serious grammar and spelling flaws, but it could still win my heart due to characterization or story. Or a perfectly structured novel might leave me feeling nothing, and won’t get a great review. I DO always try to find something positive to say about a book, or I won’t say anything much at all. I DO NOT engage in mean-spirited snark, although I do give constructive criticism. As a writer, I can’t stand the former, and always appreciate the latter, even if it’s “negative.”

Hope this makes sense. Any questions, comments, or vague misgivings are welcome in the comments!

Leave a Reply

