Author Interview: Please welcome Danita Minnis, Author of FALCON’S ANGEL!

Published January 18, 2013 by The Author

falconsangelHopefully you read my review of Danita’s book, FALCON’S ANGEL, before you stopped in here to get to know her a little better.

Actually, read them in whatever order you like — as long as you read them both!

First of all, WELCOME, Danita! You’re my very first interview here at Bloodthirsty Muses, and I have to say I’m very excited to have you here. I enjoyed FALCON’S ANGEL very much — as I knew I would when I was dragged in by the teaser! It’s outside my usual reading genre, but in such an engaging, creative way, I couldn’t resist!

But enough about me. LOL On to you!

Please tell us about yourself.

Hi Heather! I’m so excited to be your guest today. 🙂 I love the name Bloodthirsty Muses – very inspiring! Well, a little about me: I love to sing and at one point actually pursued a recording career. That all kind of changed after my son was born but that path would have taken me down the Contemporary/R&B/Pop singing road since I love all these genres. Yes, I’m a shower singer now!

That is very cool, and definitely goes a long way toward explaining the lovely music-oriented plot of FALCON’S ANGEL. How did you become a writer?

I have to say I’ve probably always been a writer, just didn’t know it! I’ve been a lover of books since I can remember. I wrote poems as a child and songs as a teenager. I think my favorite authors prepared me for and inspired my writing journey. Anne Rice and Jude Deveraux – thanks!

Oh, I am all about Anne Rice, and Jude’s KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR is one of my all-time favorites! Love your influences!

FALCON’S ANGEL is a unique mix of genres: contemporary, historical, suspense, and even the occult. Did you mean to make that kind of complicated multi-genre story, or is that just the direction it took? Where did the idea for the story come from? Did you have character or story first?

I’m a complicated person, Heather! I remember going to Barnes & Noble one day and coming out empty-handed. That was a first for me. I was looking for a book to read, something with all the elements you mentioned and I couldn’t find anything I wanted to read. Then the daydreams started. I saw this man I didn’t know in life-threatening situations. Driving to work I would wonder, how is he going to get out of that? After a few weeks I took the hint: my muse was telling me a story (I didn’t even know I had muse!), the kind of story I wanted to read. The story I couldn’t find in the bookstore. My hero Falcon came first but brought some keys scenes with him.

That’s how I got the name Bloodthirsty Muses — it’s not just about vampires, it’s about how heroes and heroines haunt me and make demands about their stories until I’m left with no choice but to heed their orders! 😉

How much of the heroine in FALCON’S ANGEL is you? I know I always find that writing a heroine gives me an opportunity to live some wish-fulfillment, or work out issues… do you find the same?

My heroine Angel is funny – at least she thinks she is! Anyone who knows me, knows my sense of humor is mercurial: sometimes dry, sometimes just plain wrong! Sometimes you’re laughing with me because you just don’t know what else I’ll say. You either get me or you don’t, know what I mean?

Hee. There’s nothing better than a heroine — or an author — with a great sense of humor. We need it in this business, right?

I loved the old-fashioned feel of FALCON’S ANGEL. The man’s man, the young, naïve ingénue, that quick and lovely slide into passionate love (which I can’t get too into so I won’t spoil it.) Would you say that’s the kind of book you like to read?

YES! I’m such a romantic soul, think I will always write a hero with these qualities because that’s what is attractive to me.

What made you choose the spectacular European settings of FALCON’S ANGEL, especially Italy? Have you been there?

I haven’t been to Italy but I am dying to go. Old countries have awesome history, culture, food – all of these things are so inspiring. There is something very humbling about walking the same path that others have walked centuries ago.

What about the musical theme of the story. You’re clearly involved in music somehow, can you tell us more about that?

Music is very personal to me. It’s part of my make-up. About the only forms I can’t relate to are hard rock and rap and that’s probably because of the types of music I sing. But harmony and melody will strike a chord with me.

Which was your favorite part of the book to write, the contemporary or the historical?

Historical! I love history and immediately knew I was going to the eighteenth century with Falcon’s Angel. Ancient Egypt is featured in my fourth work in progress. I can’t wait to get back into that!

Tell us a little about your process. Are you a pantser or a plotter or some combination of both?

I am a little of both. I will build a framework but it can change on a dime. I believe in throwing my hero and heroine to the wolves and see how they escape. I take a step back if things are going too smoothly for my characters. They always show me the way to go.

I’m the same way. Again with the Bloodthirsty Muses — I plan out their whole lives, and then they do whatever they want! 

What are your hopes for your future as an author? Do you have any specific goals?

I have two goals: hone my craft and entertain. I want readers to enjoy my books the way I enjoy my favorite authors. I will go into a book store and pick up anything with Stephen King’s name on it because his name is on it! I’d like to earn that status from my readers.

Can you tell us about your next project?DanitaMinnis

I’m editing Book 2 of the Cardiff Family Series. It is the story of Roman and Amelie, Angel’s parents. Ghosts, vendettas, a huge old mansion in England.

Ooh, I can’t wait to read that one! Is there anything else you’d like to share with readers?

Some readers have expressed interest in Angel’s brother Miles. I’m considering an adventure for him – I just haven’t made up my mind yet what path he will take – hero or villain.

Thank you so much for coming by today, Danita, and more for allowing me the honor of reading FALCON’S ANGEL. I really enjoyed it, and I look forward to see what you have for us next!

Find Danita

Amazon Author page | Facebook Blog | Google + | Goodreads | Pinterest

and FALCON’S ANGEL!

Liquid Silver Books | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | All Romance ebooks

3 comments on “Author Interview: Please welcome Danita Minnis, Author of FALCON’S ANGEL!

  • Leave a Reply

