Batty Book Review! DESTINED FOR AN EARLY GRAVE (Night Huntress #4) by Jeaniene Frost

Published January 19, 2013 by The Author

Book Title: Destined for an Early Grave

ISBN: 0061583219

Author: Jeaniene Frost

Series: Night Huntress #4

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers/Avon

Category: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy Romance

Main Characters: Cat/Bones

Author’s Website: http://www.jeanienefrost.com/

Sales Links: Amazon| B&N | Better World Books | Powell’s | IndieBound

Source: Personal purchased copy, ebook.

Rating:  4.5-full-moons   4.5 FULL MOONS

PUBLISHER’S DESCRIPTION:

Her deadly dreams leave her in grave danger

Since half-vampire Cat Crawfield and her undead lover Bones met six years ago, they’ve fought against the rogue undead, battled a vengeful Master vampire, and pledged their devotion with a blood bond. Now it’s time for a vacation. But their hopes for a perfect Paris holiday are dashed when Cat awakes one night in terror. She’s having visions of a vampire named Gregor who’s more powerful than Bones and has ties to her past that even Cat herself didn’t know about.

Gregor believes Cat is his and he won’t stop until he has her. As the battle begins between the vamp who haunts her nightmares and the one who holds her heart, only Cat can break Gregor’s hold over her. She’ll need all the power she can summon in order to bring down the baddest bloodsucker she’s ever faced . . . even if getting that power will result in an early grave.

Heather’s Review:

This series has slowly been creeping into my affections. The first one annoyed the crap out of me, but I liked each one more and more until we got to this one. Now I’m officially hooked! I love DESTINED — definitely the best so far. I’m 100% on board with Cat & Bones — they even made me cry in this one. I’m 100% Team Vlad, but I adore the whole team. There were so many things that happened in this installment that I loved — but I can’t tell you any of them without spoiling it! LOL So I’ll have to find some generic, vague ways to express them.

1. TWISTS: They’re not just twists in the plot, or turns in the road, or changes in speed, pace, or direction. They’re like running into walls at full speed. Seriously. This series is full of unexpected events, but this book seems to be jam packed full of them. Passionate ones, horrible ones, sad ones, hilarious ones, scary ones. Loved it. Of course, there are some things you can take for granted, like Cat and Bone’s survival, but still… somehow once you start caring about them, it’s easy to get lost in the OMG of it all, even if you know it will work out in the end. For everybody else? YOU NEVER KNOW.

2. ANGST: The angst before this sort of felt kind of contrived to me. Maybe again it’s that I’ve come to care about B/C, but with the sub-plot between them in this book, I really felt the pain of it. And then the hotness. It was all good.

3. SECONDARY ENSEMBLE: The gang is like family now. Losing one would really rip my heart out. I’m not saying if we lost anybody or gained anybody (maybe one of each?), but it feels like a family, and that’s an important part of a good series that sticks.

Also, Vlad must marry me immediately before I read his book and meet his In Series Love.

4. Mary Sue Cat: I know this annoys people, and usually it does me too. But like with Anita Blake, I don’t mind that Cat keeps getting a flashy new power every time she blinks or coughs. It’s kind of cool, imo. Especially when there’s inevitably some negative blowback that comes along with it. If she was happy and chipper and getting more powerful every minute, THAT would be annoying. See what you think.

Let’s put it this way: DESTINED FOR AN EARLY GRAVE is the first Night Huntress novel that I literally stayed up all night to finish. That rarely happens with a book anymore — I’m sort of jaded. But it’s happened a few times lately, and this book is one of them! Almost perfect!

@~~~~~@

OOOOO – Five Full Moons: OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK GO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
OOOO – Four Full Moons: I REALLY liked this. Well worth reading, and possibly re-reading!
OOO – Three Full Moons: Good! Worth a read.
OO – Two Full Moons: Not really to my taste, but not terrible.
O – One Full Moon: Has serious flaws that make it difficult to read and review fairly.

I also use half-moons as necessary. I should make it clear that I do review books on a number of levels, emotional and structural being the major ones. I might read a book with serious grammar and spelling flaws, but it could still win my heart due to characterization or story. Or a perfectly structured novel might leave me feeling nothing, and won’t get a great review. I DO always try to find something positive to say about a book, or I won’t say anything much at all. I DO NOT engage in mean-spirited snark, although I do give constructive criticism. As a writer, I can’t stand the former, and always appreciate the latter, even if it’s “negative.”

Hope this makes sense. Any questions, comments, or vague misgivings are welcome in the comments!

Leave a Reply

