It’s been an age… *flutters fan coquettishly*

Published January 28, 2014 by The Author

I hope everyone is well. What a lame statement! But true. You don’t need to hear my whinging… bad health personal blah blah blah. But it’s funny. It makes you think. So many of the great authors (or ones I admire, anyway) say it doesn’t matter what’s going on in your life, you have to write every day. On some level, I want to believe that. But there are times when you seriously cannot bring your head out of your troubles and sit down to escape your world. Hell, I haven’t even been writing freelance for money. Flat broke.

I can’t speak for anyone else, but when illness, or problems with family and the world around me consume me, my imagination, my concentration, just shut down. And during that time, nothing gets written.

Let my heroes insist that they write every day. I envy them so much, and I aspire to be that way. But it just doesn’t work that way for me. I just have to aspire for the best I can, and hope something good gets finished.

Truth from the trenches, kids. I don’t know if authors share this kind of stuff often, but there it is. *shrug*

On THAT note, I’m starting to write again! W00t! I don’t want to jinx it too much (how many times have I said that?), but I have an idea… well, really, a hero/heroine pairing and a vague plot idea so far, and I’m trying to get it all down before it goes poof into some family troubles around the bend (my beloved Charlotte is days, maybe a week, of dying from Lymphoma. It came on quickly around Thanksgiving and she has deteriorated since. I’ve been trying to spend as much time with her as possible, but she’s always been prickly, and utterly uninterested in snuggling or being fussed over. Anyway, my heart is broken, and when we have to put her to sleep, it’s going to be worse. But I’m going to do my best to channel that into this story… and maybe I’ll have something worth reading.)

Anyway, I have to catch up on my Goodreads list, keep working on this new story… and the world goes on, with all of it’s pain and joy.

Wow, can I be more overdramatic and maudlin? Well, I guess that’s the soul of a writer. LOL.

Back to work — my smartass lady and her perpetually perplexed vampire hero await.

~~~~~~~~~~

It's Cat TV, and in happier times, she was a junkie.

Charlotte: It’s Cat TV, and in happier times, she was a junkie.

Leave a Reply

