Bewitching Blog Book Tours Review: The Unwanted by Jeffrey Ricker

Published March 27, 2014 by The Author

The Unwanted 300 DPIThe Unwanted
Jeffrey Ricker

Genre: Gay YA fantasy

Publisher: Bold Strokes Books

Date of Publication: March 18, 2014

ISBN: 978-1626390485

ASIN: 1626390487

Number of pages: 264

Word Count: 91,556

Cover Artist: Sheri

Bold Strokes Books | Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Indigo

Book Description:

Jamie Thomas has enough trouble on his hands trying to get through junior year of high school without being pulverized by Billy Stratton, his bully and tormentor. But the mother he was always told was dead is actually alive—and she’s an Amazon!

Sixteen years after she left him on his father’s doorstep, she’s back and needs Jamie’s help. A curse has caused the ancient tribe of warrior women to give birth to nothing but boys, dooming them to extinction—until prophecy reveals that salvation lies with one of the offspring they abandoned.

Putting his life on the line, Jamie must find the courage to confront the wrath of an angry god to save a society that rejected him.

@~~~~~~~~~~@

Heather’s Review

You know, it seems like I preface all my reviews with confessions or admissions lately. Well, THE UNWANTED by Jeffrey Ricker is no exception. Before I tell you about my response to this page turner, I have to admit that it hit a lot of my annoyance/avoidance buttons were pushed by the blurb on this book — do you ever wonder how many books you’ve missed because you let the blurb turned you off? Or if you’re an author, how many readers you lost because your blurbs sucked? Yeah, me too.

Anyhoo, I admit, I’ve become a anti-YA reader. There are rare exceptions, of course, but unless certain people wrote it or recommend it to me, I stay far away. Then there are coming of age and bullying stories. I think they ARE important for the age groups they’re meant for, but I’m a grown up, and I don’t really need those lessons in my entertainment. BUT, this particular blurb had a difference — I was pulled in by the mention of a mash-up of all those things along with … CLASSICAL MYTHOLOGY. I immediately jumped at the chance to review it. And boy, am I glad that I did.

Jamie Thomas is absolutely adorable. I felt sorry for him getting picked on from page one, but really admired how he stayed strong and leaned on his best friend and supportive single dad.

Bullying quickly becomes the least of his problems when the world around him starts to explode into something right out of the Iliad and the Odyssey, and there’s some question if the things he’s always thought about himself contains any truth at all.

The fact is, all those genre labels that get slapped on The Unwanted are quickly swept away in the maelstrom of a great story full of emotion, deep characters, twists and turns like nothing I would have expected. By the end, I was just blown away and completely ashamed that I had judged the book by its genres.

If you do love YA, gay coming of age, young fantasy, etc, then you can beat this. Even if you don’t, if you enjoy a good fantasy and classical mythology with a dash of Harry Potter set in a thoroughly modern environment. It’s emotionally satisfying, full of action, emotion, and unexpected lessons in friendship and young love. I immediately went back and read it again.

I happily rate The Unwanted a shining FIVE BATTY FULL MOONS!5-full-moons

 

Don’t miss the rest of the tour!

The Unwanted Button 300 x 225

SPOILER WARNING (You’re all done if you don’t like spoilers.):

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Bring your bittersweet Kleenex stash, ya’ll. Seriously.

Don’t miss The Unwanted. It is worth it.

Leave a Reply

