I’ve been a baaaaaad girl! And no, you don’t get to spank me! ;)

Published October 7, 2014 by The Author

But I’ve been so involved in other things (like writing) for the past few days, blogging has fallen by the wayside.

So let’s catch up!

FIRST, AS USUAL, THE SINGING!

On the Seventh Day of Samhain, My True Love Gave to Me

Seven Hungry Werewolves,
Six Unraveling Mummies.
Fiiiiiiive Screeching Bats!
Four Pumpkin Donuts,
Three Thirsty Vampires,
Two Shuffling Zombies,
And a Severed Head in a Bare Tree!

I recently stumbled on some new outlining theories, and I’m finding them interesting, but I wonder if any other writers out there use them, as they are rather complicated. They’re spreadsheets based on Larry Brooke’s Story Structure and Blake Snyder’s Save the Cat Beat Sheets.

There are two spreadsheets, both designed based on the above gents’ work, made by Jami Gold. One is a Master Story Planning Worksheet, and the other is the Story Planning for Pantsers Romance Beat Sheets If you poke around Jami’s site, you’ll find all kinds of materials to help you plot out your story and character arcs. Which… Looking at the former now, I think may be far too complicated for for the 50k version of my novel I’ll be writing for NaNo.

In which case, I need to try one of the simpler ones on her site if I’m going to go that way along with my usual Marshall Plan Action Sheets.

I think I spend too much time planning. But I can’t just write by the seat of my pants — I inevitably end up stumbling in the middle that way. The beginning and the end are fairly clear, but that mid-section needs to have meat! I need to put in some time on that tomorrow. Anyone familiar with these formats? How do you outline your writing?

Leave a Reply

