The Deputy’s Redemption by Delores Fossen

Published February 29, 2016 by The Author

The Deputy's Redemption (Sweetwater Ranch #5)The Deputy’s Redemption by Delores Fossen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ll confess, I don’t think I’ve read any Harlequin or Silhouette romances, except those in the paranormal category. I’ve been a total snob that way. But the fact is, people like what they like, and they buy thousands of these category romances every month. I’m trying my hand at expanding my writing repertoire, and these seem to be a great place to tighten up my writing, learn to write keener conflict, racier suspense and thriller elements, and QUICK rising steam in my stories.

This was the first one I’ve read so far, and it was pretty good. I’m not crazy about cowboy stories, but the suspense was so bam-bam-BAM, I wasn’t at all focused on that. Excellent pacing job — crammed a lot of nerves into a very short story. Ms. Fossen has a nice writing style, too. She might be writing a book that requires a particular formula, but it doesn’t read formulaic at all. It’s also a nice introduction to an up-coming series. I learned a lot!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

