A Seal’s Seduction by Tawny Weber

Published March 8, 2016 by The Author

A SEAL's Seduction (Uniformly Hot SEALs, #1)A SEAL’s Seduction by Tawny Weber

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I liked the steam level in this one better than the other, but I suppose that’s because they’re in different imprints. The story was interesting too. I’m seeing a lot of snow involved in trapping these characters together, but I think that’s one of the conceits the readers like, like secret pregnancies, lawmen in Stetsons, and like in this one, S.E.A.L.s — or other military gentlemen (and sometimes ladies). It’s fun to learn about these themes. I wish I could do a study (after finding a list of all of these tropes) asking dedicated Harlequin readers what they like about their favorite theme.

Another pretty good book, written fairly well. The guy on the cover makes me want to lick him, which is always a plus in romance.

View all my reviews

~~~~~

In other writing news, I’m about halfway done with the outlining and action sheets for my new novel, tentatively titled Heat Stroke. I’m stepping completely out of my comfort zone, writing a contemporary for a very large imprint. Not a supernatural creature in sight. You wouldn’t think that would be too hard, would you? I mean, I’ve never actually met a vampire or lived in a supernatural world. Writing about people should be writing what I know. But I’m really struggling with building human characters, putting them in a normal world, building external and internal tension and conflict in human terms, while getting them all sweaty and falling in lust-love with each other. I feel like I’m violating a lot of writing rules I usually hold dear (like falling in love in a week or so.) — it’s really stretching my writing muscles.

On that note, back to work!

Leave a Reply

