Camp NaNoWriMo Day 4!

Published April 4, 2016 by The Author

CNW_Participant

Well, here we are: another year, another NaNo attempt. November is my favorite one, of course, but since April is my birthday month, and I already have a manuscript underway, I thought I would take the rest of Camp Nano to finish it.

Re-reading what I submitted to Harlequin makes me cringe a little. I scraped and scoured it, had other people read it over, and still when I got back, there are things I would change that I think would make it better. Actually, when things get published, there are things then I would change too.

But that’s not the point of NaNo. NaNo (National Novel Writing Month, for those who don’t know) rewards the Hemingway’s “Shitty First Draft” mentality. It helps people press through that “how do I start this?” block that stops many neophyte writers in their tracks. It tells you–don’t worry about quality, get the story down. Get nothing down but nonsense words. Just write. I think it’s a great teaching tool, because if you want to do this writing thing for more than just a lark, you’re going to have to learn to re-write, chop chapters, grow sections, and slaughter entire character arcs anyway.

This is the perfect opportunity to sharpen your “anything goes” skills! If you can get 55,000 words done in 30 days, you’ve got the basic foundation for starting to write!

Leave a Reply

