Batty Book Review: My Soul Immortal by by Jen Printy

Published April 6, 2016 by The Author

Many thanks to NetGalley and Red Adept Publishing, LLC for providing me a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

cover85952-mediumBook Title: My Soul Immortal

ISBN: 9781940215259

Author: Jen Printy

Series: Fated Eternals

PublisherRed Adept Publishing, LLC

Category: Paranormal Romance

Main Characters: Jack/Leah, Artagan

Author’s Website: http://www.jenprinty.com/

Sales Links: Amazon * Goodreads * Publisher

Source: Review copy provided by NetGalley, ebook.

Rating: 4-full-moons  4 FULL MOONS

PUBLISHER’S DESCRIPTION:

An endless love, for an endless price.

Jack’s immortality is exposed when he prevents a liquor store heist, forcing him to flee to protect his secret—a secret not even he understands. But when he meets Leah Winters—a mirrIor image of his decades-lost love, Lydia—his very soul is laid bare. He begins to question his sanity. Is she real, and if so, what does that mean for Jack and his secret?

Jack’s not the only mystery man in town. A stranger named Artagan hints at knowledge Jack is desperate to possess. But can he trust Artagan, or does the dark newcomer harbor deadly secrets of his own?

As Jack’s bond with Leah grows, so does the danger to her life. Jack must discover just how much he is willing to risk in order to save the woman he already lost once.

Heather’s Review:

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this book. It’s easy to become cynical when you’re a paranormal romance/urban fantasy lover. There are SO MANY books out there these days, that the market is sadly glutted with unoriginal plots, bad writing, and only a very few gems.

MY SOUL IMMORTAL is one of the good ones. It’s not perfect. For example, the first person POV of the hero is a little limiting, and tends to slide into the same internal thoughts over and over again. Sometimes, the plot gets a little slow and predictable. Luckily, those are intertwined with great action, excellent writing and storytelling style, and overall engrossing plot and story-within-story elements.

Calling this book merely a “paranormal romance” doesn’t fully capture its essence, either. There are elements of fantasy, mythology, a touch of history, and psychic phenomena throughout. I stayed up all night to finish, and went back to re-read bits I wanted to experience again. I loved Jack’s story, and I loved the relationship between he and Leah. I look forward to the rest of this series so I can visit the world Jen Printy has laid the foundation for.

Maybe best of all for this born and raised New Englander was its location in Maine. Most of my relatives live there, and I love it. It’s awesome that somebody besides Stephen King set a story there! LOL

@~~~~~@

OOOOO – Five Full Moons: OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK GO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
OOOO – Four Full Moons: I REALLY liked this. Well worth reading, and possibly re-reading!
OOO – Three Full Moons: Good! Worth a read.
OO – Two Full Moons: Not really to my taste, but not terrible.
O – One Full Moon: Has serious flaws that make it difficult to read and review fairly.
I also use half-moons as necessary. I should make it clear that I do review books on a number of levels, emotional and structural being the major ones. I might read a book with serious grammar and spelling flaws, but it could still win my heart due to characterization or story. Or a perfectly structured novel might leave me feeling nothing, and won’t get a great review. I DO always try to find something positive to say about a book, or I won’t say anything much at all. I DO NOT engage in mean-spirited snark, although I do give constructive criticism. As a writer, I can’t stand the former, and always appreciate the latter, even if it’s “negative.”

Hope this makes sense. Any questions, comments, or vague misgivings are welcome in the comments!

2 comments on “Batty Book Review: My Soul Immortal by by Jen Printy

  • Leave a Reply

