Batty Book Review: I Dream of Dragons by Ashlyn Chase

Published April 19, 2016 by The Author

Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing a copy to read in exchange for an honest review.

I’ll be honest — I’ve been seeing this book everywhere, and I was dying to get my virtual grubby little hands on it.

cover78590-medium

Book Title: I DREAM OF DRAGONS

ISBN: 9781492610069

Author: Ashlyn Chase

Series: Boston Dragons (#1)

PublisherSOURCEBOOKS Casablanca

Category: Fantasy Romance

Main Characters: Amber/Rory

Author’s Website: http://www.ashlynchase.com/

Sales Links: Release Date May 03, 2016

Source: Review copy provided by NetGalley, ebook ARC

Rating: 4-full-moons A Solid 4 Batty Moons!

PUBLISHER’S DESCRIPTION:

THE HEAT IS ON
When Rory Arish and his two fiery dragon siblings are run out of their ancestral Irish home, it seems their luck has run out-until they arrive in Boston and find a paranormal-friendly apartment building. Finally, Rory has a place to call home. There’s only one problem: Rory’s new lair has simultaneously been rented to an infuriating woman who is as stubborn as she is beautiful and will not leave ‘her’ apartment matter how steamed he may be…

AND SPARKS FLY
Amber McNally is a down-on-her-luck flight attendant. She needs this apartment, and not even a fire-breathing dragon with his Irish charm and scorching good looks is going to scare her away. Holing up in their respective corners, a battle of wills ensues. Who will be the first to blink…or give in to their off-the-charts chemistry and decide to make this unorthodox living arrangement a little more permanent?

Heather’s Review:

CAUTION – I’m putting the review behind a cut because it contains SPOILERS!

I absolutely adored this book! Usually, my Urban Fantasy stories (both written and read) run toward the broody, dark, dangerous, and delightful. It’s such a relief to read  story that’s funny and charming, without drowning you in sticky sweet. There might be a ton of old Irish clichés running through it, but come on, how often do you get to see leprechauns as the antagonists?

I loved the main couple — very steamy. I also loved the idea of minor goddesses, old AND new. Amber’s job as the muse of air travel was very entertaining.

Most of all, I adored the atmosphere and population of the apartment building. I would LOVE to live there. The cast of characters were awesome and fun, if a tiny bit over-crowded. I know there are two books expected after this one in the BOSTON DRAGONS series, and I’ll be running out to gather those up. This is also a spin-off series from the STRANGE NEIGHBORS series, which I shall add immédiatement to my gigantic TBR high rise.  Ashlyn Chase has other books in this universe. If not, then girl!!! Get back on your typewriter tout de suite!

There are a few tiny flaws, as every book has, but they in no way ruin the story. For example, having characters speaking in a dialect through the whole story can get a little annoying after a while. I always learned that you describe it, then leave it alone. But that’s a matter of personal taste that’s hard to gauge.

This is also a “sensual” book with very light, not-really-graphic sex. This, again, is a taste issue, not a flaw necessarily. It feels like there’s a ton of really spicy build-up, and then the reward is sort of blown off. Luckily, the main couple has so much chemistry, and this is such a cute story, it doesn’t end up mattering that much in the end.

I really liked it, and can’t wait to read more from Ms. Chase.

@~~~~~@

OOOOO – Five Full Moons: OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK GO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
OOOO – Four Full Moons: I REALLY liked this. Well worth reading, and possibly re-reading!
OOO – Three Full Moons: Good! Worth a read.
OO – Two Full Moons: Not really to my taste, but not terrible.
O – One Full Moon: Has serious flaws that make it difficult to read and review fairly.
DNF – Did Not Finish: Poor writing, flimsy plot, badly drawn characters, etc.
I also use half-moons as necessary. I should make it clear that I do review books on a number of levels, emotional and structural being the major ones. I might read a book with serious grammar and spelling flaws, but it could still win my heart due to characterization or story. Or a perfectly structured novel might leave me feeling nothing, and won’t get a great review. I DO always try to find something positive to say about a book, or I won’t say anything much at all. I DO NOT engage in mean-spirited snark, although I do give constructive criticism. As a writer, I can’t stand the former, and always appreciate the latter, even if it’s “negative.”

Any questions, comments, or vague misgivings are welcome in the comments!

Leave a Reply

