Batty Book Review: IT HAPPENED ONE DOOMSDAY by Laurence MacNaughton

Published July 2, 2016 by The Author

Disclaimer: A review copy was provided by Edelweiss and the publisher for an honest review. No other remuneration was received.

9781633881877


Book Title
: IT HAPPENED ONE DOOMSDAY
Author:  Laurence MacNaughton
ISBN: 9781633881877
Series: N/A (As of yet…)
Publisher: Prometheus Books • Pyr • Seventh Street Books
Category: Urban Fantasy
Author’s Websitewww.laurencemacnaughton.com
Release Date: July 12, 2016
Main Characters: Dru, Opal, Rane, Greyson, and a cast of colorful secondaries and tertiaries! Oh, and a muscle car named Hellbringer.
Find It: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | IndieBound | iTunes | Books-a-Million

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Source: ARC provided by Edelweiss, ebook format

 

PUBLISHER’S DESCRIPTION:

Magic is real. A handful of sorcerers wield arcane power against demons and the forces of darkness. These protectors of the powerless are the best magic-users in the world. Unfortunately, Dru isn’t one of them. She’s got magical potential. She uses crystals to see enchantments, and she can research practically anything in the library in the back of her little store, sandwiched between a pawnshop and a 24-hour liquor mart. She sells enough crystals, incense, and magic charms to scrape by.

Everything changes the day a handsome mechanic pulls up in a possessed black muscle car, his eyes glowing red. Just being near Greyson raises Dru’s magical powers to dizzying heights. But he’s been cursed to transform into a demonic creature that could bring about a fiery doomsday. There’s only one chance to break Greyson’s curse—and it’s about to fall into Dru’s inexperienced hands….

READ ON FOR MY REVIEW AND BATTY RATING!

Heather’s Review:

I’ve had so much fun reading this summer that I’ve almost made the 5 Batty Moons rating meaningless. It’s not hype, I swear; when I give it, I mean it. But sometimes I read something that makes me wish I had an extra-batty Batty Moon to give to books that were such standouts, that I knew I was going to have to get hold of a paperback for my Keepers collection, HOPEFULLY with a signature from this fantastic author. (And I’m not just saying that because he was born and raised in my home state of Connecticut, either. ;)) Here:

imageedit_16_4465329211

My heart belongs to a good urban fantasy, of course, and this particular book is so completely enthralling and so original that I couldn’t put it down once I started it. Seriously, I’m exhausted! I can hardly see the keyboard or the screen, but I REALLY wanted to get this out for the author in time for the release date coming up. So if I babble and rave, well… actually, that’s not a lot different than every other day, I guess.

Let’s list some things in UF that I adore: inanimate objects with a personality. Check. Sassy best friend + bonus Buffy-like chosen kick-ass chick best friend, double-check! Sexy guy in peril with leather jacket? Check. Super fast, scream out loud, grit your teeth, make those little half moon nail marks in your palms action and suspense? Check. And so many other really cool things that I can’t tell you, because then you’d be spoiled, and you really need to read this book if you’re looking for something new and different and fun in UF.

One of the best things about IT HAPPENED ONE DOOMSDAY is the heroine, Dru. In a lot of UF, the heroine is kick-ass (and/or in possession of some cool superpower or paranormal background), self-assured, and if not already sure of her Big-D Destiny, then she starts adjusting to it fast once she understands what it is. The best heroines are the ones who are just sort-of normal people who learn exactly how powerful and important they are (it’s a metaphor for all of us learning to find our own power and learning to survive and thrive in the world) when thrown into circumstances that demand extra-normal reaction in order to save themselves, the ones they care about, and ultimately, the day. Dru is exactly that kind of character.

Our heroine owns a little crystal shop in Colorado, she’s kind of shy and geeky, and she doesn’t think she has a whole lot that makes her stand out. She clings to her boring, starched shirt dentist boyfriend in a desperate attempt to find meaning for herself and her life, and to live the normal existence that her store, her wild friends and customers, and her limited crystal power, deny her. Of course, it doesn’t take long to figure out that this boyfriend (Nate… I dated a Nate once… but that’s enough about that) is completely wrong for her. He doesn’t understand her world–hell, he doesn’t believe in it, or her, or care that he doesn’t believe in it, or her–he expects Dru to do what she has to in order to fit into his. And for a while, she does.

But you know that can’t last. And boy howdy, does any mild hint of normal get blown away FAST and FOR GOOD. The perfect metaphor for the devastation of Dru’s dreams of being average? The utter and complete destruction of Nate’s white Prius, and the fact that the sexy/dangerous/possibly deadly hero’s black muscle car is the one she needs to count on. I don’t know if Mr. MacNaughton meant to do that or not, but hey, he should definitely say he did, because it struck me as a very clever parallel.

There’s some great writing here, but it never gets in the way of the pure entertainment value of the story. Someone needs to make a movie of this, quick. And Mr. MacNaughton seriously needs to make this a book series, if he isn’t planning to already. The characters are awesome, the dialogue is sharp, the humor and sarcasm are abundant, and anyone who misses the wit and electric chemistry between characters (literally) of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, you’ve found the right universe.

There’s so much here I wish I could rave about–which doesn’t happen often for me without vampires involved–but I CAN’T TELL YOU BECAUSE THEN YOU’D BE SPOILED! Get thee to Amazon, or better, your local brick and mortar store, and get hold of this puppy when it comes out JULY 12. You won’t be sorry that you did! I’m now a MacNaughton fangirl!

Rating:

5-full-moons 5 + Batty Moons! This one’s a KEEPER!

imageedit_3_6111984271

5 comments on “Batty Book Review: IT HAPPENED ONE DOOMSDAY by Laurence MacNaughton

    • I’ve discovered my favorite characters are inanimate objects with a personality of their own, and pets with personality. I don’t know what that says about me, but there it is. LOL

      I just happened to bump into this when cruising through Eidelweiss looking for more books I didn’t have time to read, and this just sounded so different, I had to give it a try. Plus, Laurence is from Connecticut like me, so that always makes me pause to take a second look at a book. I’m so glad I did! Warning: the cliffhanger may KILL YOU.

      Heather

  • Leave a Reply

