SNIPPET SUNDAY: BLOOD MAGICK #PNR #WEWRIWA #8SUNDAY

Published July 9, 2016 by The Author

Weekend Writing Warriors is a weekly blog hop for those who love to write! If you’re interested, click the sword and feather graphic above, or go tohttp://www.wewriwa.com/!

This week I’m sharing an unpolished snippet from the SFD* of my WIP, BLOOD MAGICK. It’s a prequel short in my upcoming Urban Fantasy series, The Ravenfell Convergence!

46


“Silver chains, Asheraphael? This childish tactic is beneath even you.”

The Magissa circled her captive slowly, long, slender fingers tapping her chin as she considered her options. “Mr. Anghelescu, you underestimate me. Those are not only silver, they are spelled as well. Why would I take the chance that you might slip my grasp with your ‘superior’ speed and strength?”

“Sarcasm doesn’t suit you, High Priestess. It seems petty for you to mock me. Surely you’re more clever than that?”


See you next week, hopefully!

imageedit_3_6111984271

*SFD= Shitty First Draft, ala Ernest Hemingway, who said, “The first draft of anything is shit.”

14 comments on “SNIPPET SUNDAY: BLOOD MAGICK #PNR #WEWRIWA #8SUNDAY

  • Laughing at your term SFD. You have to be a writer to appreciate the ironic relationship a writer has with her first draft. From being in love with your story to the despair of how it turned out. This snippet was nowhere near. Looking forward to reading much more

    • It took NaNoWriMo and Papa Hemingway’s apt assessment of the first draft to allow me to actually FINISH anything. I’m a compulsive re-writer, and for years, I never got to the end of anything because I kept changing it so much as I went. But when I finally let go and just WROTE to get the story down, and went back and pathologically re-write later, I finally got things done!

      Of course, now I compulsively re-write a dozen times after the first draft is done. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by!
      Heather

    • Thank you very much! Credit for the first draft advice, of course, has to go to Papa Hemingway. I swear, that wisdom finally helped me finish something!

      I’m glad you liked the snippet. Ever since canva.com, I make working covers when I’m writing my drafts. I’ll be ready when I self publish!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  • Great snippet, and not at all first-drafty. That Hemingway saying was incredibly liberating for me too. I think too many of us are under the impression that perfect words just pour out of “real” writer’s brains, with no need to fix them ever.

    • Thank you!

      I’m so glad I ran into that little bit of Papa wisdom–and learned to put it into operation with NaNoWriMo, or I might never have finished a story. I was always crippled by my hateful inner editor!

      Thanks for stopping by!

    • Thank you! I’m glad you got so much out of it. Things definitely get complicated here. They learn a lesson about how power can rebound to bite you in the butt!

      Thank you for stopping by!

  • Leave a Reply

