#FF Follow & Feature Friday: My favorite book-to-movie adaptations!

Published July 22, 2016 by The Author

oie_floaties

Created by Allison Can Read and Parajunkie! Stop by their sites to hop along to other #FF participants!

“The Feature and Follow is the premium BLOG HOP of Book Bloggers. Running for over five years, the Feature and Follow’s goal is to promote the book blogging and author community to join together and support each other – even if it is just through a simple follow. The FF also promotes creative post options by offering interesting topics we can all talk about and comment on! Come join us.

#ff feature banner

addicted reader

Make sure to click above, stop by, say hi and follow!

#ff post prompt banner

What are two of your favorite Book to Movie adaptations?

submitted by Peyton @A Bookish mess

Hm. As usual, I think I can do better than two…

Pretend this is the whole book trilogy (I don’t include the fourth “entry”, because I’m not a supporter of works not written by the actual author, but stuck on the end of their popular series to suck more money out of the author’s work posthumously), and know I’m only talking about the original Swedish production of the movies. Noomi Rapace was freaking amazing as anti-social hacker Lisbeth Salander, and they really captured that cold, sort of Nordic backdrop you would expect for a mystery/thriller series set in Sweden. The American version was… well, American.

Yes, both the book and the movie are problematic in this age of supposedly more sensitive race relations. (Yeah, I can’t even pretend to say that with any conviction.) At least we can admit that the vast majority of us know slavery was a cruel and ghastly part of American history that affects us to this day. It’s also hard to enjoy the movie knowing the injustices that surrounded its black cast members. (For example, Hattie McDaniel, who won a best supporting actress Oscar for her role as Mammy, was not even allowed to attend the ceremony. Nor were other black members of the cast.) Hm. I don’t know how to move on from those. If taken as a historical piece, GWTW is still a unforgettable piece of literature and film for its time.

Okay, geek confession: I’ve read the LORD OF RINGS trilogy at least 10 times since I was a kid, and it’s a slog every time. Sure, it’s a fantastic mythological universe populated with amazing characters, both good and evil, but good literary goddesses did Mr. Tolkien overwrite! I know, it was his style, his world-building skills were spectacular, this detailed style was not uncommon for fantasy at the time (or… now, actually), but wow, does that make it difficult  for this modern reader with the attention span of a sugared-up American gnat to read. The movie, on the other hand, is the spoonful of sugar that makes the medicine go down. I mean, Legolas Arwen and Aragorn’s forbidden love alone is worth the price of a ticket.

 

I’m not a big fan of YA dystopian. I mean, aren’t teenagers depressed enough by nature? Although I guess that might explain part of why they like this genre so much to begin with. I was more into chasing boys and not getting fat by my diet of pizza and French fries so I could fit into my Guess jeans when I was a teenager in the 18th century, so I can’t say. (I honestly can not remember a single book I read between about 14 and 19, although I know I devoured romance novels and anything about vampires.)
Anyway, I enjoyed both the books and the movies (thus far–haven’t seen the last) in this series a lot. I read the DIVERGENT series, too, but it was just too utterly hopeless for me.

This series of books is one of my all-time top 10, and among the top 5 funniest in my collection. I mean, I have a slowly rotting series of 1980’s paperbacks that I have replaced with ebooks for reading, but I will never get rid of the originals because of their nostalgic value.
I don’t care what anyone says: I freaking LOVED the movie with Martin Freeman, Zooey Deschanel, Yasiin Bey (aka Mos Def) and Stephen Fry (among others). It’s HILARIOUS. The 1981 5-episode TV series, not so much.

A comic completely counts! (It’s not a graphic novel, though. Seriously It’s a comic.) The Tick got me through some really dark times in my 20’s, both the comic and the animated series. The 2001 live action series starring Patrick Warburton as The Tick, and David Burke as Arthur wasn’t bad, but it just couldn’t measure up to the sheer absurdity of the animated show. I understand that that Hollywood, via Amazon and Sony, is poised to once again destroy a beloved piece of my youth with a “re-boot,” or possibly a “re-make” tv movie.

A lot of others that show up on many lists, I didn’t choose because I:

a.) didn’t read the book
b.) didn’t see the movie
c.) hated the book for various reasons (I’m looking at you, Twitlight. Don’t look so smug, 50 Shades of How to Beat and Violate Your Girlfriend and Not Call it Abuse. You’re right there too. Also PRIDE AND PREJUDICE. Sorry. Not Sorry.)
or d.) either hated or was ambivalent about the movie(s) (Still you, Twitlight. Didn’t bother with you, 50 Shades of Completely Not BDSM. P&P, you get a pass here, because the BBC version with Colin Firth was enjoyable indeed.)

If I didn’t feel strongly about the movie and the book, I didn’t list it. This applies most to Harry Potter–I have a sort of wishy-washy relationship with the books and the movies. I loved the books when I read them, and I always enjoy the movies (I have them all on DVD) and re-watch when they’re on TV, but for some reason, when I think of my favorites, they just don’t pop up. I don’t dislike them, I’m just strangely ambivalent.


Thanks for stopping by! I love meeting new people! If you look on the top right of my blog, you’ll find all the usual social media suspects, along with a way to follow by email, bloglovin’, WordPress, and others. Pick whichever you like!

I’m especially looking for people to join my monthly newsletter, which starts August 1! It will have news about my work, of course, but I’ll also be offering discussion about books, reading, and the writing life, as well!

15

imageedit_3_6111984271

12 comments on “#FF Follow & Feature Friday: My favorite book-to-movie adaptations!

    • Thank you! I’m glad I added a little something to the hop–I have weird taste in both books and movies. 🙂

      Thanks for coming by to comment! You have a beautiful day too! I hope it’s not as hot where you are as it is up here in Northern New York!

      Heather

  • All excellent choices. I am surprised you are one of the first to mention Lord of the Rings. That was an epic adaptation. I am following newsletter and Facebook.

  • I have a friend who recommend The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo the Sweden version but I haven’t watch it yet! That friend made a paper work about it for college and said it was amazing, but I don’t know, I haven’t read the book, which I always intent to. I hoping watch and read them some day.

    Thanks for visit my blog!

  • Nice choices! It’s awesome that you mentioned comic books! They do get overlooked in adaptations. I remember The Tick, that series was so funny. You just brought up great childhood memories, They don’t make cartoons like they use to anymore.
    Thanks for visit my blog again!

    • It’s so nice to see someone else who appreciates comic books–especially The Tick! There are others I read, or used to read, regularly, but The Tick holds a special place in my heart.

      I like some newer cartoons. I spend a lot of time watching The Cartoon Network when there’s nothing else on. There are a few shows on there that have pretty absurdist humor, but nothing like the old Tick! SPPOOOOON! LOL

      Thanks for commenting!

      Heather

  • Ohh great picks I have only seen The Hunger Games Movies and The Lord Of The Ring Movies even though I didn’t read LOTR Books which I do have the books now too read them soon. I absolutely love and enjoy both THG & LOTR movies so much! Thank you for stopping by my #FFF. New follower on Bloglovin.

  • I really need to see Hitchhiker’s. I love the book and I love the actors in the film. I get what you’re saying about Gone with the Wind too. A great movie even though so many problematic race elements going on in real life there.

    • I really loved the second shot at bringing HGttG to the screen. Every actor is a scream. A lot of purists hated it, but then… purists hate anything not the original. (Not that I’m like that, no ma’am! *cough*Ghostbusters*cough*

      GwtW is a literary and cinematic masterpiece. When I was young and didn’t understand the implications, I was obsessed with antebellum southern culture. I have everything Gone with the Wind the Franklin Mint ever put out. When we spent a few summers in the south when I was a teenager, I dragged my parents to every plantation that allowed visitors.

      It’s still a fascinating culture, as long as we keep in mind what was done to human beings to build and maintain that culture.

  • Leave a Reply

