Guest Blog: Alicia Dean, author of DEVIL’S PROMENADE!

Published August 11, 2016 by The Author

devilspromenade_cvr_xsml (1)

Book Title: DEVIL’S PROMENADE
Author: Alicia Dean
AISN: B01GNGTU96
Series: A World of Gothic: United States
Publisher: ShadowSpell Publishing
Category: Gothic Romance/Native American
Author’s Website: https://aliciadean.com/
Release Date: July 8, 2016
Main Characters: Camille/Declan

Amazon-iconGoodreads-icon

 

Blurb:
Amidst a blizzard, paranormal debunker Camille Burditt arrives at Devil’s Promenade in Oklahoma to research a supernatural ‘spook light’ phenomenon for her latest book. There she encounters a ghostly being, which she dismisses as a figment of her imagination. But as the apparition becomes too persistent to deny, Camille realizes the woman’s ghost is quite real—and that her demise was not accidental.

Declan Rush—the inhospitable, reclusive owner of the inn where Camille is staying—is linked to the deceased woman, but he is less than forthcoming. Despite his unfriendliness, Camille is oddly drawn to him, even though she suspects his connection to the spirit might be that of killer to victim.

When another suspicious death occurs, Camille intensifies her investigation. She has precious little time to ferret out the truth. Not only is her book deadline looming—she’s desperate to discover if the man she’s falling for is a murderer.

*** A World of Gothic is a Gothic Mystery Romance Series by authors from all over the world. For information on other titles and for interesting tidbits on mysteries and the authors, check out A World of Gothic Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1105411939511452&fref=ts

READ ON FOR AN EXCERPT, INFORMATION ABOUT AND THE INTERVIEW WITH AWESOME ALICIA, AND STAY TUNED FOR A REVIEW OF DEVIL’S PROMENADE, COMING SOON!

About the Author:aliciadean

I am a suspense and paranormal romance author living in Edmond, Oklahoma. I have
three grown children. My passions are reading, writing, wearing pajamas, and watching my favorite television shows such as The Vampire Diaries, True Blood, Justified, and Dexter. I am a huge MLB and Elvis Presley fan. I usually mention one or both in every novel and short story I write. 🙂

Excerpt:

I was hurrying up on the porch when arms grabbed me from behind. I yelped and whirled around, my fingers scrambling in my coat pocket for the mace.

My fright eased when I recognized Troy.

“Camille, are you okay?”

I took a deep breath and let it out slowly. “Yes, sure, I’m fine. Why?”

“You were running like your life depended on it.” He peered behind me into the snowy darkness. “Is something chasing you?”

Something… A shudder rippled over my spine. Was whatever had gotten to Eleanor a something, rather than a someone? A coyote, mountain lion? Or was it human? Or, considering he or she was a murderer, inhuman.

“No, nothing.” I gave a shaky laugh. “I’m just cold. I wanted to get inside where it’s warm.”

“Of course, sorry.” He released me and stepped back.

I turned to go into the house, but a thought made me pause. “Troy?” I looked back at him, my brows raised. “Where were you coming from?”

“What do you mean?”

“You’re out here, alone, at night? Did you go for a walk or something?” I thought about asking him about the necklace, about how well he knew Eleanor, but that would sound accusatory.

His eyes narrowed. “I walked around, checking the grounds. I do that every night. It’s part of my job.”

“Oh, that’s right. So, you stayed on the property, you weren’t out on the road?”

He crossed his arms. “What’s this all about? Are you accusing me of something?”

“No…no, of course not.” What was I thinking? If he were a killer, baiting him was not a good idea. “I just heard something when I was walking down the road. I wasn’t sure if it was an animal, or a person.” I forced a casual laugh. “I was certainly hoping it was you, as I’m sure you understand.”

His stance relaxed, and he smiled. “Yes, I understand. But I’m afraid it wasn’t me.” He gestured with his arm out toward the wilderness. “You need to be careful roaming around on your own out here. Not much crime in this area, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t any danger.”

“Right. Thanks for the warning.” What an understatement. Ghosts, coyotes, suspicious deaths. Danger was all around. The question was, from what, or whom, should I fear it the most?


I’m completely nosy about other authors’ process. Where do they get ideas for their specific book from? Who do they picture playing the parts when they write? When/where/how do they do their work? Pantsers? Plotters? Crappy First Drafters or Perfect the First-Timers?

I met Alicia through one of my writers’ groups, and she was kind enough to host a post about A. Sangrey Black’s upcoming release, OLD DOG, OLD TRICK on her blog!

So I was really excited to have her stop by today and satisfy my curiosity! Welcome, Alicia! Take it away!

CHAIN

1. What types of books do you enjoy in your downtime?

Suspense. I’m actually more a fan of straight thriller/suspense/police procedurals rather than romantic suspense, although I definitely enjoy those too.

2. What sort of research did you do to write this book?

When I first decided to write a Gothic mystery set in Oklahoma, I googled ‘legends and supernatural events in Oklahoma’ and I ran across the story of a spook light in Quapaw, Oklahoma. I was fascinated by the stories I read, and excited because my sister lives in that area, only a few miles from the light. Two of my writer friends and I took a road trip in March to see my sister and spook light road. It was great, although we didn’t really see the spook light. In my research I came across several legends regarding the spook light and I used many of them in my story.

3. How do you deal with writer’s block?

I just write anyway. I think we freak ourselves out and think we have writer’s block, when we’re really just scared. I give myself permission to write crap, knowing that no one else will see it until I’m ready for them to.

4. Why do you write?

I write because I can’t not write.

What keeps you motivated during creative slumps?

The love of writing. I never have creative slumps as far as ideas go, but I do have slumps when my stories are not flowing. But, I love writing so much and I know it will come if I just stick with it, so I do.

5. If your novel were being made into a movie, whom would you pick to play the lead roles?

Camille would be played by Allison Williams

Declan would be played by Stephen Amell

I actually used them as ‘models’ for the characters. I do that with each book I write. I have to have a person, usually a celebrity, in mind when I create characters.

6. What do you do in your free time when you aren’t writing?

I edit and watch TV and hang out with friends and family.

7. Do you put yourself in your books/characters at all?

I think we all put ourselves in our characters just a bit. I always, purposely, mention Elvis, MLB and/or NFL in every book I write. I think my protagonists often share my values.

8. What are your top three favorite books of all time?

Gone with the Wind, Sweet Savage Love, I’m going to cheat, it would be a toss up between the Bosh series by Michael Connelly and the Patrick Kenzie series by Dennis Lehane.

9. How did you come up with the title of your book?

In my research, I discovered that the area where the spook light is found is called Devil’s Promenade, and it’s also the name of a bridge that goes over nearby Spring River. I thought that was a perfect title for my story.

10. Are there any nuggets of wisdom you can impart to aspiring writers?

Keep writing, keep writing, keep writing. Write every day. Don’t let criticism get you down, but be open to constructive criticism. If you write for the love of writing, then you’re a successful writer, simply because you write.


Thank you so much for coming by, Alicia. I can’t wait to read DEVIL’S PROMENADE!

imageedit_3_6111984271

Leave a Reply

