Batty Book Review: THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas

Published November 29, 2016 by The Author

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

>>> 4 batty moons FOUR BATTY MOONS!

This universe just grabbed me and won’t let go. One of the things that really makes this series unique is Celaena Sardothien, the sort-of heroine. I say “sort-of,” because she is really more of a protagonist than a straight-up heroine. She has serious–and understandable–flaws. Generally, we don’t see killers, especially paid assassins, as heroes. There are extenuating circumstances to her place in life. You really should read THE ASSASSIN’S BLADE, which includes all the short prequel stories for the series, imo. Technically you don’t have to, but I think they provide some really important background that explains how Calaena got to be who and what she is, as well as what is truly at the core of her, beyond the labels she carries.

This book is a terrific mixture of magic, fantasy elements, suspense, action, and romance. It sets up what will become a truly labyrinthine and epic story on a strong foundation. In fact, it’s hard for me to review this book alone, because I immediately went on to the next one! It all feels like one giant story, in which I can’t quite remember which events happened in which book. I’d say that’s a good sign, at least for me.

My only complaint is that the series isn’t finished yet, and it’s going to drive me nuts when I get to the end of the current final book!

Ooh! Before I forget, I LOVE the elves in this universe. But I can’t remember if we actually meet any in this book or not! Don’t worry, there is PLENTY to keep you occupied in THRONE OF GLASS. Ms. Maas really deserves her accolades and popularity. Her writing is really strong, and she creates a reality where there are no shining, perfect heroes, but real characters with real flaws–even though they are unmistakably creatures of a fantasy world! I’m really enjoying this roller coaster ride!

View all my reviews

2 comments on “Batty Book Review: THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas

  • Leave a Reply

